A moment with OSWALD GEORGE OKAITEI winner of


image

A moment with OSWALD GEORGE OKAITEI winner of “Sword of Truth” category for THE VILLAGE THINKERS HONORARY POETRY AWARDE

••• Poet Oswald, congratulations on your winning of this honorary poetry awards. Can you tell us your name and brief educational background?

Oswald Okaitei, completed Seven Great Princes Academy, then to Presbyterian Boys’ Sec. School (Presec Boys’, Legon) and then, University of Cape Coast.

••• Ever dreamt of becoming a poet?

Hmm, I only dreamt of speaking to the world with a finely kneaded words and touch. I never focused on being a poet. It came out naturally that I am a poet.

••• How far has the journey with poetry been?

Since childhood. Then I was so unconscious about that. This year marks my third since I took it seriously.

••• What has been the inspiration in writing poetry?

My oikos.

4. Why not any other genre but poetry?

I write plays too and currently working on two novellas. But it’s quite easier with poetry.

••• Were you expecting to win any of this noble honorary award?

Candidly, I had no knowledge about this whole project. A friend ‘inboxed’ and informed me that he nominated me for an award and I won.

••• Poet can you please tell us how far poetry has transformed your life?

A lot of transformations; made me meet a lot of people, think deep and observe. It has increased my emotional level too. Lol

••• Does poetry in our parts of the world (Africa) get enough support?

Not really. It promises to be better but not yet.

••• How best has social media boosted your poetry writings?

It made me win my three International awards and learn a lot.

••• What have been some of the challenges so far as a poet?

Pull down attitude of our contemporaries. Financially and some few which may be personal.

••• What comments can you make to those who have supported thus this far?

Your supports are the paddles with which I have driven to this juncture. The journey still continues and so do not abandon me yet. I am still a caterpillar without wings to fly.

— **Thanks poet for this thrilling moment** —-

THE VILLAGE THINKERS, 2015

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 thoughts on “A moment with OSWALD GEORGE OKAITEI winner of

Leave a Reply

